12 Zodiac Signs, Symbols, Dates, Personality and Characteristics

In the Indian and global astrological field is divided in to 12 pieces, each piece measuring 30 degree is called a zodiac sign. These twelve zodiac signs belong to the zodiac wheel(chakra). The zodiac chakra is calculated with the beginning of the line connecting the earth and a certain point outside it. Click on the sign of the zodiac below to know the full details of your zodiac sign.

We all know that the universe originated from a sphere of fire. This fire sphere is made up of many different molecules. These molecules are capable of encircling. Due to this energy the fire sphere exploded and disintegrated and similar molecules came together to form planets.

zodiac signs

Of the various planets that have thus appeared, seven are the planets that benefit the earth. Rahu and Ketu originated from the point where the path of the earth and the path of the moon conquered each other. In addition, a total of 9 planets are responsible for global motion.

The sun is the source of life for all living things on earth. The orbit of such a space is divided by the twelve zodiac.

The Astrological zodiac is calculated by dividing the sky 360 degrees by 12. Similarly the 9 planets stand in 27 stars in the 12 zodiac signs and determine the fate of all life on earth. Every 30 degree angular scale measured from this line is the zodiac sign.

The following table shows the zodiac, symbols, direction and degree of the 12 zodiac signs.

12 Zodiac Signs, Symbols and Direction

Zodiac Sign

Vedic Symbol

Western Symbol


TaurusThe bullSouth
LeoThe lionEast
VirgoUnmarried womanSouth
SagittariusBow with ArcherEast
CapricornMythical AnimalSouth
AquariusThe Water bearer(Jug)West

Elements of Zodiac Signs

The 12 zodiac signs are defined as fire zodiac, land zodiac, wind zodiac and water zodiac. Let’s see them.

Fire Signs

Aries, Leo and Sagittarius are the three fire zodiac signs (Fire Signs). Sun and Guru are the planets of this nature. People born in the fire zodiac are very brave, arbitrary decision makers and self-confident.

Earth Signs

Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn are the three Earthly Signs (Earth Signs). Mars is the most planet of this nature. People born in the zodiac sign of Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn are very relaxed people.

Air Signs

Gemini, Libra and Aquarius are the three air signs / air signs (Air Signs). Mercury is the most planet of this nature. People born in the wind zodiac are full of good qualities and very smart.

Water Signs

Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces are the three Water Signs. The Moon and Venus are the most significant planets. Those born in the water zodiac signs of Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces will have mastered all the arts and will have a great system of imagination.

Qualities of Zodiac Sign

The twelve zodiac signs are divided into three cardinal, fixed and mutable qualities.

Cardinal Zodiac

Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn are the Cardinal zodiac signs. They are interested to help others. also, interested in going to many places. People who born in the Cardinal zodiac does not have any benefits from the eleventh place lord profiteer.

Those who have the qualities of forgiving nature, speed, leadership trait, independent thinking, goal only mark.

Fixed Zodiac

Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius are the fixed zodiac signs. ‘Fixed’ means ‘being in the same position’. People who born in fixed zodiac have a permanent income from assets, multi-apartment house builders, Can earn through the real estate sector. Their activities will be very calm and confident.

Those who are based on such qualities as stability, stubbornness, prudence, dizziness, and inability to change opinions.

Mutable Zodiac

Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces are mutable zodiac signs. The mutable zodiac signs people always are two-minded and belong to the family. Those who cannot be determined. Those who can change their mind often.

People who have qualities like calmness, research mindedness, like to talk a lot, ambiguous thinking, end stumbling, forgetfulness

Zodiac Sign’s Dates – Western Method

Which month is which zodiac sign? We will find out in the table below.

♈ Aries (Ram): March 21–April 19

♉ Taurus (Bull): April 20–May 20

♊ Gemini (Twins): May 21–June 21

♋ Cancer (Crab): June 22–July 22

♌ Leo (Lion): July 23–August 22

♍ Virgo (Virgin): August 23–September 22

♎ Libra (Balance): September 23–October 23

♏ Scorpius (Scorpion): October 24–November 21

♐ Sagittarius (Archer): November 22–December 21

♑ Capricornus (Goat): December 22–January 19

♒ Aquarius (Water Bearer): January 20–February 18

♓ Pisces (Fish): February 19–March 20

Birth Signs – Stars Pada in Zodiac – Vedic Astrology Method

The 27 Nakshatras include Ashwini, Bharani, Krittika, Rohini, Mrighasira, Ardra, Punarvasu, Pushya, Ashlesha, Magha, Purva Phalguni, Uttara Phalguni, Hasta, Chitra, Swati, Vishaka, Anuradha, Jyestha, Moola, Purvashada, Uttarashada, Sharavan, Dhanishta, Shatabisha, Purvabhadra, Uttarabhadra, and Revati. When a person is born, the Moon is in the foot of the star, which is the person’s zodiac sign. Thus everyone can calculate their zodiac sign.

stars pada in zodiac

stars pada in zodiac

Aries – Ashwini, Bharani, Krittika 1st pada

Taurus – Krittika 2,3,4 & Rohini, Mrighasira 1,2

Gemini –   Mrighasira 3, 4 & Ardra, Punarvasu 1, 2, 3

Cancer – Punarvasu 4, Pushya, Ashlesha

Leo – Makha, Purva Phalguni, Uttara Phalguni 1st pada

Virgo – Uttara Phalguni 2, 3, 4 pada, Hasta, Chitra 1,2

Libra – Chitra 3, 4, Swati, Vishaka 1, 2 ,3

Scorpio – Vishaka 4, Anuradha, Jyestha

Sagittarius – Moola, Purvashada, Uttarashada 1st pada

Capricorn – Uttarashada 2, 3, 4pada & Sharavan, Dhanishta 1, 2

Aquarius – Dhanishta 3, 4 pada, Shatabisha, Purvabhadra 1, 2, 3

Pisces – Purvabhadra 4, Uttarabhadra & Revati

Zodiac lords

Let’s see who is the lord of which zodiac sign?

Aries, Scorpio – Lord of Mars
Taurus, Libra – Lord of Venus
Gemini, Virgo – Lord of Mercury
Cancer – Lord of the Moon
Leo – Lord of the Sun.
Sagittarius, Pisces – Guru, Sage
Capricorn, Aquarius – Lord of Saturn

Planet’s Exaltation Houses

Let’s see which planets Exaltation in which zodiac sign. Click here to know more about this

Aries – The peak of the sun
Taurus – The peak of the moon
Cancer – Guru’s peak
Virgo – Wednesday peak (even rule)
Libra – Saturn peak
Capricorn – The peak of Mars
Pisces – The peak of Venus

Related Topics

You May Also Like…

Libra Compatibility

In this post we will look at Libra Compatibility with Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces. Libra and Aries...

Virgo Compatibility

In this post we will look at Virgo Compatibility with Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces. Virgo and Aries...